Daily Archives: 7 June, 2006

Qualities of an Excellent Servant

John MacArthur "Watered down teaching, platitudes and sermonettes for Christianettes and limp theology and convictionless preaching have replaced strong doctrine, clear exposition of Scripture, profound preaching and the legacy has been tragic."
(John MacArthur)

I listen to Grace to You ministries by podcast every chance I get lately. This man is preaching GOD's Word. It seems funny that this sermon would come up during this time in my life though. As I struggle to see GOD's Truth preach and teach in my church. I think MacArthur has the answer to the Church's problem….

"And I really believe that the failure to have a critical mind and the failure…and I don't mean by critical unkind or ungracious, I mean analytical…the failure to have a critical mind in our generation has allowed the church, first of all, to be infiltrated by all kinds of error. It has then led to the church becoming confused. It has then led to the church being weak, and, of course, the church is even liberal and in some cases it's totally apostate. Watered down teaching, platitudes and sermonettes for Christianettes and limp theology and convictionless preaching have replaced strong doctrine, clear exposition of Scripture, profound preaching and the legacy has been tragic. Charismatic confusion, psychology encroaching on biblical doctrine, science of mind, psychic and occult ideas pervading Christianity, cultic perceptions, success‑oriented motives, prosperity doctrines, positive confessions, all of that stuff has come into the church like a flood. And honestly, I believe that all of this chaos can be laid at the feet of spineless convictionless uncritical pastors who have failed to draw the lines and say there is error and speak to that build their people up strongly in the Word of God."